Ballas Hough Band

by - 3/17/2009

Anyone who's given the hit TV series Dancing With the Stars even a cursory glance knows the names Mark Ballas and Derek Hough. Since 2006, the two professional ballroom dancers both led their celebrity partners to victory in successive seasons, trading in months of grueling practice and competition for one highly coveted Mirror Ball trophy. "I love to entertain people," says Mark, who took the crown on season 6 with Olympian Kristi Yamaguchi (Derek won in season 7 with Brooke Burke). "Seeing people smile and enjoy themselves, that's what I live for."

But entertaining audiences never took one form for Mark or Derek. The two best friends have been playing and making music together for more than a decade, in between touring theatrical productions and ballroom competitions. And like every achievement they've crossed off their collective to-do list, a career in music was a dream they worked towards tirelessly. "

The Ballas Hough Band, features  fan favorites Mark Ballas and Derek Hough on vocals and guitar, Emily Grace on keyboards and vocals, bassist Sam Marder and drummer Harry Sullivan. In addition to their own originals, the album features collaborations with songwriters Dan Wilson, Kevin Kadish and Marty James on several tracks. Lead single “Do It For You” was co-written by new “American Idol” judge Kara DioGuardi, Marty James and Ari Levine, and mixed by Serban Ghenea (Justin Timberlake, Mary J. Blige, Kelly Clarkson, NERD).

About the band, Derek says, "I’m sure that people’s first reaction to us will be, 'These dancing guys think they can play guitar now?' But after seeing us play, they'll realize that this is not a Hollywood move to make a quick buck. At our shows, it's always the guys — who were probably dragged out by their girlfriends — who'll come up to us and say, 'Man, you guys can play.' Eventually, people will come to know that we can shred on guitar, rip on the bass, that our drummer had a scholarship to Berklee College of Music, that our piano player is trained as well as any Julliard graduate, and that we're five kids who've grown up together and know each other inside and out, and have been playing together for years."

Following the spring season of "Dancing with the Stars," the band will embark on a summer tour across the U.S. More information can be found at

The track listing for BHB is as follows:

   1. Do You Love Me
   2. Devastated
   3. Closer
   4. She Was The One
   5. Longing For
   6. Birthday
   7. Fall
   8. Do It For You
   9. Breakthrough
  10. Together Faraway
  11. Underwater

Of the songs that aren't BHB originals, the first single, "Do It For You," was co-written by new American Idol judge Kara Dioguardi and makes for the perfect introduction to the band's pop sensibilities. And it's one of my personal favorites!

Check out these great tracks today! Buy your own copy here.

If you like this post, then please consider subscribing to my Full Feed RSS.
You can also Subscribe by Email and have new posts sent directly to your inbox.

You May Also Like


Hi, Glad you stopped by!